धर्मो रक्षति रक्षितः। Dharmo Raksati Raksitah.

Dharma protects those who protect it.

– Veda Vyas, Mahabharat

The Sixth Navratra- Symbolism

By Aparna Sharma

The sixth Navaratra is to honour the sister’s daughter. That little niece who is responsible for the first stirrings of the parental instincts in us; who we want to pamper and protect. This is the final day of MahaLakshmi in these Navaratras.

Among the NavaDurgas Ma Katayayani, the Protector Goddess is the Durga for this day. She represents sharing, nourishment and relationships. After the fasting and the purifications the energy is now moving into the Aagya(आज्ञा) chakra – the master chakra located between the eyebrows (and thus, also called the ‘Third Eye’). The element of this chakra is the Maha tattva – the tattva in which all tattvas are present in their rarified pure essence. In Tantra, this tattva is also known as Buddhi tattva – that aspect of consciousness which regulates mind, ego and intelligence. An imbalance here can cause chaos at the physical and emotional levels. The purity of our thoughts and nobility of intentions are our true protection.
The centre of clarity and wisdom, it forms the boundary between human and Divine consciousness. It is the meeting point of the three principle Nadis, Ida (Moon Nadi), Pingala (Sun Nadi) and Sushumna (Central Nadi). When the energy of these three Nadis unites here and rises further, we attain Samadhi, Supreme Consciousness.

Its Mantra is OM and its colour of Agya is white with a white Shivling as its symbol. At this point, and above it, there is no animal symbolism anymore, for henceforth, exist only human and Divine qualities. Its element is the element of the mind, Anupada Tattva.

The qualities of this Chakra are oneness (ek), emptiness (shunya), truth (sat), consciousness (chitt) and bliss (ananda). The “eye of knowledge” opens within and we see the reality of the Self – hence the term “third eye”, which is an attribute of Lord Shiva. The Agya Chakra is the seat of the “inner Master”. It indicates that wisdom and knowledge are realised in all actions. The egocentric intellect has surrendered to the higher, ethical, reasoning power of discrimination (Viveka).

Prayer can be a great support at this level. Pray in which ever manner appeals; going within with folded hands and eyes closed, or by bowing before a Deity, or hands out stretched above beseeching the heavenly powers! Pray for whatever you desire most and manifest it.

The ego and its drama, the temperament need to be kept in check when the Aagya chakra gets activated. A non – judgemental attitude needs to be cultivated. A non-critical attitude prevents the possibility of getting caught in needless conflict that can sap our energy and deplete our sense of well-being. Instead ability to observe in an objective manner needs to be developed; even one’s own self! Watch out for the unconscious behavioral patterns that we tend to keep on repeating. Observation of these deepens the journey of exploration into our own being. We begin to truly know ourselves. Unaware of our own true self, who are we to judge anyone anyways

Do some breath work (pranayama) to bring the mind under control. Sit for sometime chanting the eternal Om and tuning into higher subtle frequencies. With attention at the point between the eyebrows, contemplate – Who am I? “को हम?” Know thyself

Navaratras #mysticannu #cafespirituality #appliedspirituality #lifeisgood❤ #annukalra #beautyindiversity