धर्मो रक्षति रक्षितः। Dharmo Raksati Raksitah.

Dharma protects those who protect it.

– Veda Vyas, Mahabharat

The Second Navratra- Symbolism

By Aparna Sharma

The Second Navaratra is to honour the Dhaai Ma– The mid-wife, nurse or obstetrician who delivered and held the new born as he/she gasped for the 1st breath. The Ancients had deep appreciation of the role of health workers and medical people in our lives even in those times.

Ma Brahmacharini, is the Durga of this day. She represents discipline, practice and good conduct. In order to be victorious over the asuric shaktis or negative forces in the world. The forces of light, or the daivic shaktis need to bring a sense of discipline in their lives. What better than this period of fasting to commit oneself to a new improved routine for greater well-being! By accessing the active (kriya shakti) support of Mahakaali, efforts to wipe out the negativity from within shall gain momentum on this night. The battle to vanquish the inner demons of lust, anger, pride, sloth has begun!

वो जो ब्रह्म जैसा आचरण करती हैं, स्वाधिष्ठान चक्र की देवी हैं। The Svadhishthan chakra is the center of procreation. The element of this chakra is water, the essence of life. Allow flow to be maintained in one’s own life by letting go of emotions, thoughts, beliefs, relationships and aspects that no longer support your well-being. Attempt a true detoxification at every level of the being!

At the physical level too engage with water with greater awareness (since the element of svadhishthan chakra is water). Drinking, bathing, washing hands(we need to do so much more of it now a days), cleaning dishes, watering plants – do everything more mindfully. While bathing pour water from the top of your head, chant the Gayatri mantra as you visualise the water being poured wash away all negativity and flow in a cloudy stream into the drains, taking all that does not belong to this realm into its rightful place through the sanitation system. Even while washing hands chanting the mantra ensures we wash continuously for the recommended 20 seconds!

You could also just sit in silence for some time after chanting Om, feeling each and every cell in the body reverberating to the sound of the eternal Om.

More about Svadhishthan Chakra:

The Svadhishthan Chakra is situated at the lower end of the Sacrum. Its Mantra is VAM. It marks the second level of our development. The evolution of consciousness towards pure, human consciousness begins in this chakra. It is the seat of the subconscious mind where all life experiences and impressions since the beginning of our existence in the womb are stored. The Muladhar Chakra is the storehouse of our Karmas, however these are activated in Svadhishthan Chakra. Awakening of this chakra brings clarity and development of the personality. But before this can happen we must purify our consciousness of negative qualities.

Navaratras #mysticannu #cafespirituality #appliedspirituality #navaratri  #spirituallyinspired #aavirbhaav #annukalra #lifeisgood❤ #beautyindiversity #maakaali

Sources: https://www.facebook.com/groups/611196005729114